Wellesley Hosts NEWMAC Tennis Championships this Weekend

Wellesley Hosts NEWMAC Tennis Championships this Weekend

WELLESLEY, Mass. – This weekend's semifinal match-ups are set as Wellesley College hosts the 2013 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women's Tennis tournament. Top-seeded MIT and second-seeded Wellesley earned spots in the semifinals after a bye in the first round. They will be joined by #3 Wheaton and #4 Babson, who both posted 5-0 wins in the quarterfinal round on Wednesday.

On Saturday, MIT and Babson will meet in the first semifinal, scheduled for an 11:30 am start. In their regular-season match, MIT came away with a 7-1 victory.  Babson earned their point at one doubles, where junior Alex Freeman and first-year Dina Weick topped MIT's Lauren Quisenberry and Julia Hsu, 9-8 (10-3). MIT was led by first-year Elysa Kohrs who picked up wins in both her singles and doubles matches, including earning the match-deciding point at number two singles.

At 3:00pm on Saturday, Wellesley will battle Wheaton in the second semifinal of the day. In the regular season, it was Wellesley that nabbed a 6-3 victory. The Blue opened with a commanding 3-0 lead after doubles play, and then took three of six singles matches to earn the 6-3 win. First-years Andjela Stojkovic and Samantha Stone, and senior Kendall Tada, all picked up two wins for the Blue. Wheaton earned its points in singles, where junior Alexandra Marlowe, senior Lyndsay Cooke, and first-year Amanda Brazell each earned victories.

Saturday's semifinal winners will meet in the championship game on Sunday. The match will start at 1:00pm.

The NEWMAC Tennis Championship has come down to Wellesley and MIT in each of the last two seasons. MIT took the title in 2012, while it was Wellesley who won in 2011. The Engineers own four total titles, while Wellesley has won eight championships. Wheaton owns a pair of titles, while Babson has won the event once.

2013 NEWMAC Women's Tennis Championship

Quarterfinals: Wednesday, October 23 at higher seed:
          #3 Wheaton defeats #6 Springfield, 5-0 | Boxscore | Recap
          #4 Babson defeats #5 Mount Holyoke, 5-0 | Boxscore | Recap
Semifinals: Saturday, October 26 Hosted by Wellesley College:
          #4 Babson vs. #1 MIT - 11:30 a.m.
          #3 Wheaton vs. #2 Wellesley - 3:00 p.m.
Championship: Sunday, October 27 Hosted by Wellesley College:
          Semifinal Winners - 1:00 p.m.

NEWMAC Women's Tennis Tournament Champions
2012 MIT
2011 Wellesley College
2010 Wheaton College
2009 Wheaton College
2007 Wellesley College 
2006 Wellesley College
2005 Wellesley College
2004 Wellesley College
2003 Babson
2002 MIT
2001 MIT
2000 No Tournament
1999 MIT
1998 No Tournament
1997 No Tournament
1996 No Tournament
1995 No Tournament
1994 No Tournament 
1993 Brandeis University
1992 MIT
1991 Wellesley College
1990 Wellesley College
1989 Brandies University 
1988 Smith College
1987 Smith College