Blue Soccer's You Mak, Zhou Named to NEWMAC All-Conference Second Team

(l to r) You Mak and Zhou were each named to the NEWMAC Second Team (Frank Poulin).
(l to r) You Mak and Zhou were each named to the NEWMAC Second Team (Frank Poulin).

WESTWOOD, Mass. -- The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced the 2018 Women's Soccer All-Conference and Postseason awards on Wednesday and Wellesley College junior Kendall You Mak (San Francisco, Calif.) and first year Liz Zhou (McLean, Va.) have each earned All-Conference honors. 

Kendall You Mak | Jr. | San Francisco, Calif. | NEWMAC Second Team All-Conference

You Mak earned their second All-Conference Second Team nod in as many seasons after appearing in all 16 games for Wellesley at both defender and midfield. You Mak was the Blue's team leader in shots with 19 and was consitently one of the top players on the field for Wellesley. You Mak was integral in starting Wellesley's counter-attack and they were often called upon to shut down some of the top players in the conference while adapting to multiple positions on the field. 

Liz Zhou | Fy. | McLean, Va. | NEWMAC Second Team All-Conference

A first year defender, Zhou started and played in all 16 games and was a constant threat from the back, providing dangerous moments in the attack. In just her first collegiate season, Zhou displayed a great combination of skills and selflessness and was rewarded with a goal during just her third collegiate game. Zhou's first career goal was also the game-winner in Wellesley's 1-0 victory over UMass-Boston on September 5. She went on to finish the season with seven shots.

The NEWMAC also recognized the eleven women's soccer student-athletes who were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season. Senior Alex Dionne (Belmont, Mass.) was this year's selection for the Blue. The complete list of NEWMAC women's soccer honorees are listed below. 

Wellesley soccer finished the 2018 season with a 4-9-3 overall record and a 1-6-3 NEWMAC record. 

2018 NEWMAC Women's Soccer All-Conference

Athlete of the Year: Sophia Struckman, MIT
Defensive Player of the Year: Hailey Nichols, MIT
Rookie of the Year: Kaleigh Dale, Springfield
Coach of the Year: Martin Desmarais, MIT

Team Name Institution
First Team All-Conference Jessica Fernandes Babson College
First Team All-Conference Sara Swetland Springfield College
First Team All-Conference Claire Hurley U.S. Coast Guard Academy
First Team All-Conference Paige Haly Emerson College
First Team All-Conference Jess Frost Emerson College
First Team All-Conference Shannon Miller MIT
First Team All-Conference Sophia Struckman* MIT
First Team All-Conference Kaleigh Dale Springfield College
First Team All-Conference Kristen McCrea WPI
First Team All-Conference Hailey Nichols* MIT
First Team All-Conference Chrissy Conley Springfield College
First Team All-Conference Amanda Benavente Emerson College
First Team All-Conference Gabriela Hoops WPI
Second Team All-Conference Montana Reilly MIT
Second Team All-Conference Karenna Groff MIT
Second Team All-Conference Amanda Wright Springfield College
Second Team All-Conference Leah Beauton WPI
Second Team All-Conference Rachel Feliu Springfield College
Second Team All-Conference Liz Zhou Wellesley College
Second Team All-Conference Kendall You Mak Wellesley College
Second Team All-Conference Katelyn Korzec Babson College
Second Team All-Conference Emily Berzolla MIT
Second Team All-Conference Maya Neilan MIT
Second Team All-Conference Lizzie Miller U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Second Team All-Conference Macy Golman Clark University
Second Team All-Conference Megan Rose Emerson College

2018 Women's Soccer All-Sportsmanship Team

Name Institution
Carson Drake Babson College
Rylee Simons Clark University
Alexandra Hanson Emerson College
Allie Hrabchak MIT
Abby Tuckett Mount Holyoke College
Celia Tasho Smith College
Jackie Davis Springfield College
Rachel Samotis U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Alex Dionne Wellesley College
Logan Ahearn Wheaton College
Sierra Palmer WPI