GOLD RIVER, Calif. -- Wellesley College crew used a fourth place performance in the Varsity Eight (V8) Grand Final and a national runner-up performance in the Second Varsity Eight (2V8) Grand Final to take third place overall at the 2015 NCAA Division III Rowing Championships at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center on Lake Natoma.  

Geared by a first place time in the 2V8 and a runner-up performance in the V8, Bates College won the National Championship, capturing the first team title in school history. The Bobcats were followed by Trinity College, last year's national champion, and the Blue in the overall team standings.  

The third place performance matches Wellesley's best result at the NCAA Championships, as the Blue finished in third during both the 2011 and 2012 Championships before taking fourth in each of the last two years. 

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) champion Blue got off to a great start in the day's first Grand Final, finishing in second place in the 2V8 event with a time of 7:07.431. Bates (7:05.465) held on to the lead throughout the race to take the title. The Bobcats and Blue were followed by Trinity (7.13.191) and Williams (7:18.825). 

Wellesley then went on to finish in fourth place in the V8 Grand Final, recording a time of 07:04.650. Trinity took the V8 National Title, leading from start to finish, while recording a time of 6:54.576. The Bantams held off Bates (6:57.786) and Hamilton (7:02.529) as well as the Blue en route to the gold. Williams (7:04.827) and Tufts (7:08.632) rounded out the field in the final event of the season. 

Wellesley was making its sixth consecutive appearance at the NCAA Championships after winning the Blue's fifth consecutive NEWMAC title. 

Wellesley's Lineups for the 2105 NCAA Rowing Championships:

Varsity 8 (V8): C-Stephanie Kim; 8- Meg Roberts; 7- Charlotte Benishek; 6- Kathryn Barth; 5- Anna Hakes; 4-Loren Lock; 3- Molly Hoyer; 2- Olivia Duggan; 1- Audrey Ellis

2nd Varsity 8 (2V8): C- Alessandra Zaldivar-Giuffredi; 8- Em Reuder; 7- Margaret Babikian; 6- Sahar Ibrahim; 5-Lauren Bazley; 4- Olivia Thayer; 3- Sloane Rice; 2- Sierra Luther; 1- Nina McKee