Blue Crew Closes Out Regular Season at ECAC Invite

Blue Crew Closes Out Regular Season at ECAC Invite

WORCESTER, Mass. -- Wellesley College Crew qualified all four boats for grand finals, as the Blue earned a fourth place finish in the Women's Point Trophy standings at the 2015 ECAC National Invitational Collegiate Regatta on Sunday on Lake Quinsigamond.

The Varsity Eight (V8) advanced to the grand final with a second place showing of 7:12.012, trailing only Trinity (7:07.384), in their qualifying heat. In the grand final, the Blue took sixth with a time of 7:39.417, as top-ranked Bates (7:20.155) won the event. 

The Blue's Second Varsity Eight (2V8) also trailed Trinity (7:33.183) in their qualifying heat, advancing with a time of 7:35.383. In the grand final, Wellesley (7:41.646) raced to fifth place, finishing just tenths of a second behind Williams (7:41.316), as Bates (7:23.954) again set the pace.

Wellesley's Third Varsity Eight (3V8) and Novice Eight (N8) crews closed out the regular season with a pair of strong performances. The 3V8 took third in its opening heat with a time of 8:03.442 before advancing to finish fifth in the grand final at 7:57.231. The Blue's N8 cruised to first place in its qualifying heat before taking second to Williams (7:37.036) in the N8 grand final. 

Wellesley will now prepare for the 2015 NCAA Division III Rowing Championships, May 29-30, at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, California. Wellesley will be making its sixth-consecutive appearance at the NCAA Championships. 

Today's Lineups: 

V8: C- Stephanie Kim, 8- Meg Roberts, 7- Audrey Ellis, 6- Kathryn Barth, 5- Olivia Thayer, 4- Loren Lock, 3- Margaret Babikian, 2- Olivia Duggan, 1- Anna Hakes 

2V8: C - Alessandra Zaldivar-Giuffredi, 8- Aggie Rieger, 7- Sahar Ibrahim, 6- Sloane Rice, 5- Alexandra Rondeau, 4- Alexi Block-Gorman, 3- Charlotte Benishek, 2- Em Reuder, 1- Sierra Luther

3V8: C Sydney Stento, 8- Nina McKee, 7- Emily Ahn, 6- Ciaran Gallagher, 5- Sally Ruderman, 4- Charlotte Weiss, 3- Laura Bancroft, 2- Noa Weinstein, 1- Jane Vaughan

N8: C Ginger Simms, 8- Annie Schnitzer, 7- Alexis Lowe, 6- Ainsley St. Clair, 5- Lauren Bazley, 4- Molly Hoyer, 3- Liz Shumway, 2- Jocelyn Wong, 1- Kelsey Campbell