Wellesley's Brittingham, Hensch Named to NEWMAC Softball All-Conference Team

(l to r) Gen Brittingham and Marisa Hensch were each selected to the NEWMAC All-Conference team (Frank Poulin).
(l to r) Gen Brittingham and Marisa Hensch were each selected to the NEWMAC All-Conference team (Frank Poulin).

WESTWOOD, Mass. -- The New England Women's & Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced the 2019 Softball All-Conference and Postseason awards on Tuesday and Wellesley College sophomore Gen Brittingham (Aliso Viejo, Calif.) and first year Marisa Hensch (Carlsbad, Calif.) have each earned All-Conference honors. Brittingham was named to the All-Conference First Team and Hensch was named a Second Team All-Conference selection following her rookie season. 

Gen Brittingham | So. | Aliso Viejo, Calif | NEWMAC First Team All-Conference 

A NEWMAC All-Conference selection for the second time in as many seasons, Brittingham earns her first All-Conference First Team selection after being named to the Second Team as a first year in 2018. Brittingham finished the season as the NEWMAC leader in batting average, hitting a remarkable .509. Brittingham was among the top-five in the conference in on-base percentage (.513), slugging (.796), hits (55), and RBI (32), while registering a conference leading 18 doubles in 108 at-bats. She also registered eight outfield assists in her first collegiate season playing in the outfield. 

Marisa Hensch | Fy. | Carlsbad, Calif. | NEWMAC Second Team All-Conference 

Hensch capped a standout rookie campaign with a .370 batting average to earn her first career All-Conference honor. Hensch tied for the team lead in runs scored (27) and was second on the Blue in RBI (20) and third in total hits (37), while sporting a .434 on-base percentage and a .520 slugging percentage. Hensch had a .975 fielding percentage in 122 chances at third base, displaying incredible range and adept decision making in all situations in the field. She made only three errors all season and only one in her final 22 games of the year. 

The NEWMAC also recognized the ten softball student-athletes that were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season. Wellesley senior Sydney Hopper (Newcastle, Wash.) was this year's selection from the Blue softball team. 

2019 NEWMAC Softball Postseason Awards: 

Athlete of the Year: Caraline Wood, WPI
Pitcher of the Year: Ravenne Nasser, MIT
Rookie of the Year: Lindsay Ambrosino, WPI
Coach of the Year: Whitney Goldstein, WPI

2019 NEWMAC Softball All-Conference:

Team Name Institution
First Team All-Conference Caraline Wood WPI
First Team All-Conference Ravenne Nasser MIT
First Team All-Conference Josephine Mares Babson College
First Team All-Conference Gen Brittingham Wellesley College
First Team All-Conference Alexyss Conley Springfield College
First Team All-Conference Devon Goetz MIT
First Team All-Conference Colleen Campbell MIT
First Team All-Conference Mackenzie Phillips WPI
First Team All-Conference Brooke Stock Babson College
First Team All-Conference Shelby Allen Springfield College
Second Team All-Conference Lindsay Ambrosino WPI
Second Team All-Conference Jacqueline Paul Babson College
Second Team All-Conference Marissa Gonzales WPI
Second Team All-Conference Kallista Leonardos Emerson College
Second Team All-Conference Courtney McKenna U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Second Team All-Conference Jade Assad Wheaton College
Second Team All-Conference Michelle Wist MIT
Second Team All-Conference Neely Eddleston Emerson College
Second Team All-Conference Ashley Tango Babson College
Second Team All-Conference Marisa Hensch Wellesley College


2019 NEWMAC All-Sportsmanship Honorees:

Name Institution
Charlie Guscott Babson College
Kayleigh McHugh Clark University
Alena Jones Emerson College
Michelle Wist MIT
Emma Kraus Smith College
Marisa Valenti Springfield College
Sharayah Simco U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Sydney Hopper Wellesley College
Clara DeCarvalho Wheaton College
Brittany Bolster WPI