Wellesley College Athletics Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Seven member class of inductees to be enshrined on the evening of Saturday, October 13, 2018.
Seven member class of inductees to be enshrined on the evening of Saturday, October 13, 2018.

WELLESLEY, Mass. -- Wellesley College Athletics has announced the seven member Hall of Fame Class of 2018. The third class to enter Wellesley's Athletic Hall of Fame will be inducted on the evening of Saturday, October 13, 2018. To purchase tickets to the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner at Alumnae Hall please visit: wellesleyblue.com/hoftickets.

Six alumnae student-athletes and one program contributor make up the Class of 2018:

  • Katie Antypas '99 - Volleyball
  • Marret Arfsten '03 - Field Hockey
  • Sarah Hilgenberg '00 - Soccer
  • Elizabeth T. Jordan '59 - Swimming
  • Jennifer Kegel '88 - Cross Country
  • Amy Ayres Parratto '83 - Diving
  • Louise O'Neal, Director of Athletics and Department Chair, from 1990-2006

"I want to welcome the newest members of our Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame and congratulate them on this tremendous honor," said Bridget Belgiovine, Director of Athletics and Chair of the Department of Physical Educations, Recreation, and Athletics at Wellesley College. "Wellesley looks forward to celebrating the achievements of each of our seven inductees at what I am sure will be a memorable induction ceremony this fall."

Katie Antypas '99: A member of the Blue's 1998 Final Four volleyball team that still holds one of the top records in NCAA history at 37-1, Antypas was an AVCA All-American setter and NCAA All-Tournament honoree in the same year. The co-recipient of the 1999 Barbara Barnes Hauptfuhrer '49 Scholar-Athlete Award, she was twice named AVCA and NEWVA All-Region and was a NEWMAC All-Conference honoree in all four years of her collegiate career, as she registered 3,712 career assists and 1,051 career digs.

Marret Arfsten '03: Arfsten finished her Wellesley field hockey career as a two-time NFHCA All-American, including a selection to the All-America first team in 2002. A three-time NFHCA All-Region first team selection and NEWMAC All-Conference selection, she registered 117 points on 48 career goals and 23 career assists, ranking her among the all-time leaders in career points in program history. She finished her career as Wellesley's Most Outstanding Senior Class Athlete and was Massachusetts State Finalist for the NCAA Women of the Year Award in 2003.

Sarah Hilgenberg '00: The only NSCAA National All-American in Wellesley soccer program history, Hilgenberg earned the honor in both 1998 and 1999 while helping the Blue to back-to-back NCAA Regional final appearances. Wellesley's Barbara Barnes Hauptfuhrer '49 Scholar-Athlete Award winner in 2000, she was a four-year NSCAA and NEWISA All-Region and NEWMAC All-Conference honoree, she was voted the NEWMAC Women's Soccer Athlete of the Year in 1999 – a fitting end to a career that included 65 points and 23 career goals.

Elizabeth T. Jordan '59: Vice President of the Swim Club and a member of the College Government, Jordan represented Freeman Hall in dorm swim meets during her time at Wellesley. The U.S. Masters Swimming David Yorzyk Award winner in 1997, she was inducted into the International Masters Swimming Hall of Fame in 2005 and has completed multiple open water swims, most notably in 2012 as part of a six-woman over-70 age team, where – at age 75 – she helped set a new Catalina Channel Swimming Federation age group record that still stands today. In all, Jordan has set 38 world records in different five-year age groups for backstroke, butterfly and individual medley.

Jennifer Kegel '88: A three-time NCAA Championship participant in cross country, Kegel helped the Blue qualify for the national meet in 1985 and 1986 and was an individual qualifier and All-American in 1987. Kegel helped the cross country program to win the New England Championship in 1985 and continued on to earn All-Region and All-Conference honors from 1985-1987. In addition to her cross country success, her prowess on the track stills stands as motivation for Wellesley's current student-athletes, as her times in the outdoor 3000m (10.16.6) and 5000m (16:49.5) still stand as Wellesley program records.

Amy Ayres Parratto '83: A five-time All-American diver at Wellesley, Parratto was captain of the Blue swimming and diving team in both her junior and senior seasons. A cross-divisional New England regional champion on the 1-meter board (353.25) in 1981, her legacy at the national level begin at the AIAW Championships, where she finished 6th in the 1-meter (332.45) and 8th in the 3-meter in 1982. The next year at the first NCAA Division III Swimming & Diving Championship in 1983, she was a dual All-American scoring 339.60 to place 4th in 1-meter and 375.55 to take third on the three-meter board.

Louise O'Neal: As Director of Athletics and Department Chair from 1990-2006, O'Neal was instrumental in building and turning Wellesley Athletics into what it is today. She oversaw enormous growth and success of the athletics programs and was responsible for the construction of a state of the art outdoor fields complex and the addition of the sports of golf and softball. Wellesley made 16 NCAA Championship appearances during her tenure, with both the field hockey and volleyball teams advancing to the NCAA Final Four.

The Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame celebrates the spirit and achievements of Wellesley scholar-athletes and those who have inspired and supported them. Athletics Hall of Fame members exemplify the College's longstanding conviction that varsity athletics play an important role in the development of leadership abilities, the cultivation of character and discipline, and the resolve to strive for excellence in every aspect of life.