Blue Volleyball Wins 2013 Seven Sisters Championship

Blue Volleyball Wins 2013 Seven Sisters Championship

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. – The Wellesley College volleyball team won their 12th Seven Sisters Championship, including their third in the last five years as the Blue defeated Mount Holyoke College, 3-0 (25-12, 25-12, 25-14) to secure the title on Sunday afternoon. The Blue had a 3-0 record entering the final match of the weekend, but had secured its crown earlier in the day with a 3-1 win over this year's runner-up, Smith College.

With a 4-0 record this weekend, the Blue now move to 22-2 on the season.  

The Pioneers took second overall with a 3-1 record, while Vassar College finished the weekend 2-2 to take home third place. The host Lyons finished fourth with a 1-3 mark, while Bryn Mawr College was fifth with an 0-4 record.

Ten players representing all five teams were honored as All-Seven Sisters. Earning MVP honors after leading the Blue to the title was junior Sydney Carfagno. She was joined on the All-Seven Sisters team with teammate Caitlin Laughlin along with Rosa Drummond and Paige Sarlandt from Smith; Gabby Miller and Taylor Mosley from Vassar; Emma Sweeting and Kaleen Iwema of Mount Holyoke; and Rachel Ofili and Samantha Abbott from Bryn Mawr.

The Seven Sisters Volleyball Tournament has been contested since 1983.

Against Smith, Wellesley came away with a 3-1 victory. It was a battle of the unbeaten in the eighth match of the tournament as both the Blue and the Pioneers entered the match with 3-0 records. Smith opened with a strong showing, taking the first set 25-21, but Wellesley responded, taking the final three sets by matching 25-18 scores.

The Blue were paced by Carfagno's 19 kills and eight digs. Senior Kellyn O'Brady recorded a double-double with 11 kills and 11 digs for the Blue, while senior Hilary Ayers had a match-best 27 assists for Wellesley. Laughlin and senior Megan Mills rounded out the Blue offense with eight kills each. 

The Pioneers saw Drummond record 17 kills, while Sarlandt added 15 kills. Senior Sonia Brown and Voorhes combined to lead the Smith defense.

The Blue sealed their 12th Seven Sisters Volleyball title in the final match of the day as they downed the host Lyons, 3-0 (25-12, 25-12, 25-14). Carfagno once again led the offensive effort, posting nine kills and adding 12 digs in the match. First year Taylor Jais recorded a match-best 18 digs, while Ayers chipped in with a match-high 13 assists for Wellesley (22-2).

Mount Holyoke (9-10) saw senior Martina Kneifel record eight kills, while Lyon had 12 assists and Iwema posted 10 digs.

Wellesley is back in action at home on Tuesday, hosting Clark in a 7:00pm NEWMAC clash.  


2013 Seven Sisters Volleyball Championship
Hosted by Mount Holyoke College

Tournament Website

Champion - Wellesley (4-0)
Runner-Up - Smith (3-1)
3rd Place - Vassar (2-2)
4th Place - Mount Holyoke (1-3)
5th Place - Bryn Mawr (0-4)

RESULTS - Saturday, October 12
Smith 3, Mount Holyoke 0 (25-14, 25-22, 25-14)
Smith 3, Vassar 0 (25-11, 25-9, 25-13)
Wellesley 3, Bryn Mawr 0 (25-21, 24-26, 25-8, 25-19)
Mount Holyoke 3, Bryn Mawr 2 (17-25, 25-15, 23-25, 25-17, 15-12)
Wellesley 3, Vassar 0 (25-18, 25-13, 25-18)
RESULTS - Sunday, October 13
Vassar 3, Mount Holyoke 0 (25-17, 25-22, 26-24)
Smith 3, Bryn Mawr 0 (25-16, 25-12, 25-11)
Wellesley 3, Smith 1 (21-25, 25-18, 25-18, 25-18)
Vassar 3, Bryn Mawr 1 (19-25, 25-19, 25-22, 25-14)
Wellesley 3, Mount Holyoke 0 (25-12, 25-12, 25-14)

MVP - Sydney Carfagno - Wellesley
Caitlin Laughlin - Wellesley
Rosa Drummond - Smith
Paige Sarlandt - Smith
Talyor Mosley - Vassar
Gabby Miller - Vassar
Emma Sweeting - Mount Holyoke
Kaleen Iwema - Mount Holyoke
Sam Abbott - Bryn Mawr
Rachel Ofili - Bryn Mawr