Blue Tennis Wins Twice to Open Seven Sisters

Blue Tennis Wins Twice to Open Seven Sisters

POUGHKEEPSIE, N.Y. -- The Wellesley College tennis team went 2-0 on day one of the 2013 Seven Sisters Championships, hosted by Vassar College. The Blue opened the day with a 4-1 win over Mount Holyoke and then cruised to a 5-0 win over Smith.

In a 4-1 win over Mount Holyoke, Wellesley won all three singles matches and then one of the doubles matches to earn the victory.

In singles, Diana Granger, Catherine Matulis and Veronica Lin all earned straight set wins. Granger defeated Nahree Han, 6-3, 6-1, at one, while Matulis defeated Sarah Anischik, 6-1, 6-0 at two. At three, Lin was a 6-3, 6-1 winner over Eman Magik.

Wellesley earned its fourth point as Sojung Lee and Suzanne Barth paired up for a doubles win. They defeated Ann Elizabeth and Margaux Holloshutz, 6-2, 6-0, in the one spot. In the other doubles match, Kendall Tada and Elena Bowen lost a marathon match in a tiebreaker, 1-6, 6-2, 7-5.

Against Smith, Wellesley won each match in straight sets, allowing just one game against them in five matches.

Singles winners included Lee, Barth and Bowen, who each topped their opponents, 6-0, 6-0. Lee defeated Seema Samawi at one, Barth defeated Jinan Martiuk at two, and Bowen defeated Kathryn Dernbach at three.

In doubles, Granger and Tada won at one, while Lin and Matulis were winners at two. Granger and Tada defeated Kyle Gouchoe-Hanas and Andrea Tanco, 6-0, 6-0, while Lin and Matulis won 6-1, 6-0 over Carly Mellio and Tessy Lopez.

Wellesley returns to action at Seven Sisters tomorrow, facing Bryn Mawr at 12:00pm, and Vassar at 3:00pm.


2013 Seven Sisters Tennis Championship
Hosted by Vassar College

Standings (After Day One)
1. Wellesley 2-0
1. Vassar 2-0
3. Mount Holyoke 1-1
4. Smith 0-2
4. Bryn Mawr 0-2

Saturday Results:
Vassar 5, Bryn Mawr 0
Wellesley 4, Mount Holyoke 1
Vassar 5, Smith 0
Mount Holyoke 4, Bryn Mawr
Wellesley 5, Smith 0

Sunday Schedule:
9:00am - Bryn Mawr vs. Smith
10:30am - Vassar vs. Mount Holyoke
12:00pm - Bryn Mawr vs. Wellesley
1:30pm - Mount Holyoke vs. Smith
3:00pm - Vassar vs. Wellesley